What I do

http://tinyurl.com/d27sj8q

As I said in my last post, backpacking and climbing is my “thing”. I enjoy biking, rafting, and skiing too, and I will run for exercise. I despise most gyms, I have never lifted weights in my life, I don’t circuit train, I don’t cross fit, and I don’t run on treadmills. Not that there is something wrong with people who do those things, I just do not enjoy that kind of training. Climbing gyms are another thing. I live across from one in Thornton, which is an awesome gym with awesome staff members.

I define myself as light and fast. My first priority is to enjoy myself, and if I go lighter than my current system, either my wallet hates me or I’m cutting my comfort zone margins too tight. I find a 35L pack will fit my solo setup plus 4-5 days worth of food, and most of my system works in the winter, meaning all I need to do is switch out my sleeping bag with a warmer one.

I find one other part of my life integral in my outdoor life, and that is my photography. I have always loved taking photos. I am a complete amateur by any standard, however I feel like I have an eye for good photos and dramatic shots. I intend on taking a few classes in the coming year to help familiarize myself with manual shooting and some of my camera’s advanced features.

Recently I have decided to start writing. I am an engineer, not an English major, so I will not pretend that my writing is eloquent with effective rhetoric. I’m happy if I’m considered to be clear and coherent and I have to start somewhere. My sincerest hope is that my writing will inspire people to get out and push themselves to new places. The highest form of flattery will be seeing someone using my experience to plan their own adventure.

I do believe in the 10,000 hour rule, and as more of my photos, writing, and trips get published, and as I work towards new goals as I put my time in, I will become better.

“The greats weren’t great because at birth they could paint. The greats were great cause they paint a lot”

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

