New Article and the road ahead

DSC00548-B&W1

The newest edition of Trailgroove magazine came out today. This time I wrote up an article on lightweight options for backpacking photographers. It is oriented towards people who bring smaller mirrorless cameras and point and shoots into the backcountry, and want to expand their cameras capabilities with a tripod. Do you need a tripod? No. But, if you brought a tripod, are their certain effects and tricks you can do with it? Absolutely. I always appreciate feedback, so let me know what you think.

http://www.trailgroove.com/issue9.html?autoflip=51

I also had one of my Utah photos featured in the contents page

http://www.trailgroove.com/issue9.html?autoflip=2

So, what’s next?! Right now I’m working on two more trips, the Aspen 4 pass loop, and a Grand Teton trip. Due to some circumstances beyond my control, I won’t be able to do the John Muir Trail trip like I planned, so that one is scrapped until next year. The 4 pass loop will be in a few weekends, and I haven’t ever hiked in the Elk Mountains, so I’m looking forward to it.

I’m starting to get really excited about the Grand Teton trip. I’ve wanted to do the Teton Crest trail for a few years now, however I always thought that it seemed like it was too short, since it only traverses half of the park. I found an alternate route that will traverse the entire park that has a few names, but I think that the Teton High Route fits it best. It looks to be just under 70 miles, and I haven’t figured out the approximate gain/loss. However it should make for a good trip, and if I end up soloing it, the flat landscape of the eastern section of the park will make for an easy road ride for a bicycle shuttle.

Both the Teton Crest Trail and the Teton High Route cross in and out of national park land and the Jedediah Smith Wilderness area. However the backcountry usage in the wilderness area doesn’t have any red tape with permits or hard sided bear canister requirements, so as long as I spend the night on the wilderness side, I should be fine.

Other trips down the road include the White Rim in Canyonlands and another weekend Grand Canyon trip in the fall. Keep tuned in for all of the fun.

Posted in Planning and Prep, TrailGroove Magazine

Leave a Reply

